Taxi Driver Online

UK cab trade debate and advice
It is currently Sat Jun 29, 2024 6:11 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 11:06 am 

Hi
I am new to the industry and am just about to buy a plate for in Glasgow for £35K but with all of the discussion threads around de regulation I am now unsure if this is a good idea.
Seem to be lots more people on here more knowledgable than me so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

craigwilson25@hotmail.com

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:30 pm 

Craig25 wrote:
Hi
I am new to the industry and am just about to buy a plate for in Glasgow for £35K but with all of the discussion threads around de regulation I am now unsure if this is a good idea.
Seem to be lots more people on here more knowledgable than me so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Spending 35k on a plate under present conditions is a risky business. You need to find out when Glasgow last had an unmet demand survey and what method they use for regular updates to satisfy themselves that there is no unmet demand. If you feel the method wouldn't pass the test required by law then don't buy one, if on the other hand you feel the method used would pass the test then you are going to have to make a hard decision.

Jacobs has just done a survey in Edinburgh which states only 30% of the public use a Taxi rank as a means of getting a Taxi, that means 70% of the public use other methods. It follows that anyone using a rank survey as a top up method to determine unmet demand is only measuring 30% of any demand that might exist?