Taxi Driver Online

UK cab trade debate and advice
It is currently Sun Jun 23, 2024 8:50 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 10:15 pm 

This message came via info@taxi-driver.co.uk.

Looks like the chap needs help.

Alex

Hi

I am a taxi proprietor in St Austell (Restormal borough council). On the 5/11/10 the licensing committee are meeting to decide the fate of the current restrictions placed on taxi limits in our borough. I am a committee member of the St Austell & Newquay taxi association and I have been given the opportunity to speak at this meeting. We have been fighting this for as long as I have been a taxi driver (5 years). I have heard that some of the previously restricted areas have now decided to put the restrictions back in place. I understand that Torquay is one of these areas and there are some others that have done the same.

I would be very grateful for any information you can give me.

Kind Regards

Paul Smithson

A2B Taxis (St Austell)
6 Brockstone Road
St Austell
Cornwall
PL25 3DW

Tel: 01726 66600
Email: paul_smithson32@hotmail.com
Web: www.staustelltaxis.com

Simply the best taxi forum in the whole wide world. www.taxi-driver.co.uk

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 10:26 pm 

Councils that have re-restricted include, Birmingham, Liverpool, Sheffield, Cardiff, Derbyshire Dales, Reading, Southend and Bracknell who have since re-delimited. :roll: :roll:

However I would be interested how you think you will be able to deal with the Equalities Act, as you only have 11 WAVs out of 74. So if the govs % is 50%, your council will have no other option than to issue up to 60 extra plates. :shock:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:42 am 

Sussex wrote:
Councils that have re-restricted include, Birmingham, Liverpool, Sheffield, Cardiff, Derbyshire Dales, Reading, Southend and Bracknell who have since re-delimited. :roll: :roll: